What Is The Difference Between Plant-Based Food And Vegan Food?

Plant-Based Diet
Plant-Based Diet
Plant-Based Food
Plant-Based Food

Plant-based food and vegan are two common terms that we hear nowadays in conversations regarding lifestyle and diet. Very often, people use these terms interchangeably such that it creates a confusion. The difference between these two terms can be subtle or vast depending on the context. Regardless of what differentiates them, they have positive benefits on our health, and this makes them popular among health-conscious people. So, the purpose of this article is to give you an in-depth understanding of the difference between the two, read on to know more.

What Is Plant-Based Food?

Listed below are the major categories of plant-based foods that we consume daily.

  • Fruits
  • Vegetables
  • Leafy greens
  • Tubers
  • Sea vegetables
  • Legumes
  • Grains
  • Seeds
  • Nuts
  • Mushrooms
  • Yeast

However, refined products like all-purpose flour, sugar, and oils, etc., are not considered plant-based foodeven though they come from plants. These are also known as plant fragments and are not healthy because they are refined to remove useful plant materials or compounds to increase shelf life. Also, keep in mind that when people talk specifically about plant food, they refer to any edible that is not sourced from an animal or made using animal products like milk, eggs, butter, gelatine, etc.

What Is Minimally Processed Plant-Based Food?

Food preparations like hummus, peanut butter, guacamole, oatmeal, applesauce, vegetable broth, salsa, and such items would be an examples for minimally processed plant food. Food products like whole what bread, corn tortillas, spaghetti, and rice noodles, etc., also fall under this category. Besides, condiments like mustard, soy sauce, hot sauce, and vinegar also come within the scope of plant-based food.

Is Bread Plant-Based Food?

Traditionally bread is made using flour, yeast, and water, so it is plant-based food. However, milk bread and other such preparations commonly found in supermarkets don’t fall under this category.

What Is Vegan?

A vegan is a person who abstains from using or consuming animal-based products, and this ideology is called veganism. So, by default, they consume plant-based food preparationand products.

What Is A Vegan Diet?

A vegan diet consists of food preparations that do not contain animal products or by-products like eggs, butter, milk, and gelatine, etc. However, vegan foods can include items like french fries, potato chips, pretzels, coca-cola, Oreos, and other such food products made using refined food products. So, these items will not come under the scope of plant-based food preparation.

We hope that the details shared above clarified your doubts about plant-based food and vegan food.